OABR Foundation

About the Foundation

The Omaha Area Board of REALTORS® Foundation is an IRS Section 501(c)(3) charitable organization that provides financial assistance for real estate education, general community needs across the greater Omaha area, and housing-related efforts. All administrative costs are paid directly by the Omaha Area Board of REALTORS®, meaning that 100 percent of all donated funds go directly to the charitable effort being supported.

In addition, the fundraising efforts of local REALTORS® participating in OABR councils, committees, forums and task forces are channelled through the Foundation so the cumulative impact of REALTORS® in the community can be maximized.

Who Does the Foundation Support?

The Omaha Area Board of REALTORS® Foundation is an approach to annual giving that allows you to make contributions to priority funds supporting real estate education, housing assistance, and community needs.

Currently, the OABR Foundation is supporting three charities consistent with Foundation mission: housing assistance; local community needs including housing shelters or housing provider-organizations, and real estate education including UNO scholarships for students in the real estate department and support to the Diversity Committee’s Ethnic Minority Outreach Scholarship Program helping to defray the costs of getting into the real estate business for minority candidates.

The Foundation has also supported the REALTOR® Relief Foundation for victims of natural disasters to assist with immediate housing expenses (9-11-01).  The RRF also supported victims in the Nebraska flooding last year.

How To Get Involved

1. Easy… Donate! The OABR Foundation, for example, has supported four local charities in the past that benefit our community: ABIDE, Hope Center for Kids, Holy Name Housing, and the UNO Estate Scholarship Program.

2. All OABR Members are welcome and encouraged to sit in on an OABR Foundation Meeting! Meeting times are listed below and on the OABR Calendar. 

Upcoming Committee Meetings

The Omaha Area Board of REALTORS® Foundation Committee Meetings are typically held quarterly in the OABR Boardroom. Always check below or the OABR Calendar for any date and location changes.

Next Meeting TBA

Judi Anding Educational Scholarship

The Judi Anding Educational Scholarship is entrusted by the Omaha Area Board of REALTORS® Foundation. REALTOR® members of the Omaha Area Board of REALTORS® are eligible to apply for a tuition scholarship for Designation and Certification Courses that are recognized by the National Association of REALTORS®. Up to five scholarships will be given out per year. Contact our Programs Director with questions.

Community REinvest

2020 Affiliate Virtual Food Drive

As a result of the Covid-19 outbreak and subsequent quarantine of communities, many households have lost their income and families are struggling to put food on the table. On April 22nd, the Affiliates started a virtual food drive for the Food Bank for the Heartland. $3,665 was raised inclusive of a $2,500 donation from Veterans United Home Loan.

2020 Chili Cook-Off

The food drive from the 29th annual Chili Cook-Off raised more than $3,300 (or enough for 10,000 meals) for the Food Bank for the Heartland! Since 2014, the virtual food drive has raised almost $28,000 for the Food Bank for the Heartland.

2019 REALTOR® Ring Day

REALTORS® and Affiliates rang bells to raise money for the Salvation Army on Friday, December 6th, 2019. The day was cold, but hearts were warmed! Together with nearly 250 volunteers, over $9,000 was raised.

2019 Turkey Bowl & Toys For Tots

The annual Affiliate Turkey Bowl was held on November 13th at the Mark. The event raised $24,315.91 surpassing last year’s total!

Contact the Foundation Committee

Bill Swanson

2022 Chair

BHHS Ambassador Real Estate
(402) 679-6566

Megan Bengtson

2022 Vice Chair

Nebraska Realty
(402) 740-5519

Donna Shipley

Staff Liaison

Omaha Area Board of REALTORS®
(402) 619-5551